Monday, April 9, 2012

The central committee of Sri Lanka's Frontline Socialist Party

Sri Lanka's latest political party, Frontline Socialist Party (FSP), held its inaugural convention today and appointed the central committee.

The central committee comprises Premakumar Gunarathnam and Dimuthu Atigala that were abducted hours ahead of the convention and remain disappeared so far.

Many former internal leaders of the People's Liberation Front (JVP) such as Senadheera Gunathilaka, G. Kularathna and Champika Sudasinghe are in the FSP central committee.

Shantha Wijesinghe, Pubudu Jayagoda, Chameera Koswatta, Duminda Nagamuwa, Ravindra Mudalige, S.K. Subasinghe (former MP), Sunil Jayarathna, Sujith Kuruvita, Jude Silva Pulle, Indrananda Silva (former Provincial Councilor and an eyewitness to the killing of JVP founder Rohana Wijeweera), Samansiri Fernando, Indika Weerakoon and Jaminda Siriwardhana are the rest of the central committee.

Galle district MP Ajith Kumara of the Democratic National Alliance is a notable absentee here, perhaps because of legal issues pertaining to the parliamentary seat.

The central committee is to meet today to appoint the politburo, party Chairman and General Secretary etc.

Share this article

Digg Google Bookmarks reddit Mixx StumbleUpon Technorati Yahoo! Buzz DesignFloat Delicious BlinkList Furl

0 comments: on "The central committee of Sri Lanka's Frontline Socialist Party"

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...